School Improvement Team

2020-2021  School Improvement Team Members 

Administration: Melanie Ramsey and Patty Hughes
PEP-Estes Elementary: Alyson Grant and Shionette Montgomery
PEP-Valley Springs Middle: Peyton Young, Dianne Ross and Michael Twitchen
PEP-TC Roberson High: Jonathan Fox, Bo Wyatt, Sharon Hakim and Carol Ray
Other Certified Staff: Brandon Greene
Support Staff: Carisa Hooks
Bus Staff: Richard Kohler
Parent Representative: Michael Dunn

School Improvement Teams are considered a public body and are subject to open meeting laws.  Staff, parents and community members are always welcome to attend and observe the meetings. Announcement of Meeting Times can be found on this section of our website.

You may communicate directly with an individual on the team or send a request to the entire committee. You may contact Melanie Ramsey, PEP Director, at 828-654-1780, or email,  Contact information for the chair and co-chair will be posted as soon as those roles are assigned.   

School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law to develop school improvement plans.   The team is comprised of the principal of each school, representatives of the assistant principals, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants assigned to the school building, and parents of children enrolled in the school.  The representatives are elected by their respective groups (such as the PTA/PTO for parents).  

The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement.  It is the intent of NC that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans.  [NC General Statutes �115C-105.27].   Buncombe County Schools encourage and endorse shared decision making as evident in our mission statement, Core Values and various policy directives.